A perk of the job, familiarity, Munich

Three beautiful things that made the week:

1. On Tuesday I give a talk at the Yorkshire Medical and Dental History Society on the history of family planning. It’s very enjoyable. I get a free dinner and meet lots of interesting and interested people.

2. It only takes five minutes to get my eyebrows waxed on Wednesday but I could lie there all afternoon it’s so relaxing. It’s the only beauty salon I’ve been to where I feel immediately at ease. This has all to do with the staff who genuinely seem to remember me from one visit to the next. The same goes for the hairdresser. I’ll miss this familiarity when we move back down south.

3. The weekend is taken up with a brief but wonderful visit to Munich.  We catch up with friends and their two adorable children before heading off to Chiemsee for a wedding – beautiful setting, gorgeous weather, a perfect couple.

Leave a Reply

